跳转至

认识 RSS

Note

在使用 RSSerpent 前,你首先需要对 RSS 有足够的认知。如果你相信自己已经做到了这一点,可以跳过本章节。

什么是 RSS

RSS 是 Really Simple Syndication 的缩写,中文译作“简易信息聚合”。RSS 是一种互联网消息来源的格式。其他常见的消息来源格式还包括 AtomJSON Feed 等。作为最早出现也最流行的消息来源格式,RSS 也常被用作 RSS、Atom 等消息来源格式的统称。

作为一种消息来源的格式,RSS 能够向用户推送网络上一些频繁更新的内容 —— 其中的一个典型应用就是新闻。时至今日,许多新闻发布者都仍在通过 RSS 发布新闻,例如 BBC News、The Guardian 等。

为什么选择 RSS

RSS 对于内容阅读者来说是方便的。通过订阅 RSS,你可以将多个来源的信息聚合在一处浏览,这样就免去了你在获取信息时不得不打开多个网页/应用逐一查看的麻烦。更棒的是,你还可以在此基础上对聚合信息作过滤、筛选、排序,从中挑选出最有价值的信息,以节省你宝贵的时间。许多 RSS 还会将相关内容全文输出,这样你甚至不必打开网页/应用就能阅读,你得以免于 Cookie 等追踪手段的干扰,你的隐私也安全无虞。

但 RSS 对于内容发布者却并不尽然友好。尤其是在 RSS 免去了阅读者打开网页/应用的麻烦、免去了受 Cookie 追踪隐私的困扰之后,内容发布者的广告收益与其他潜在商机势必要受到损害。于是时至今日,越来越少的内容发布者允许用户通过 RSS 来订阅内容。因此,RSSerpent 项目希望改善这一局面,让更多用户能够通过 RSS 独立、便捷、自由地获取互联网上的信息。

如何使用 RSS

通常来说,你可以通过一个链接来订阅 RSS。RSS 订阅链接默认会输出更易于计算机理解的数据交换格式,例如 XML、JSON 等。因此,我们还需要一个 RSS 阅读器,来帮助我们将 RSS 订阅链接中的内容转换为更易于人类阅读的形式。

下面以卫报世界新闻的 RSS 订阅链接在某一时刻输出的内容为例:

The Guardian feed

在浏览器中打开该订阅链接,你可能会看到这样一份难以理解的 XML 格式文档。请不要惊慌:你无需从事任何计算机编程相关工作就可以学会如何使用 RSS 😉 你需要关注的只有浏览器地址栏中的那个链接 —— 也就是卫报世界新闻的 RSS 订阅链接。将该链接拷贝到剪贴板,然后打开你的 RSS 阅读器,输入该链接,你就可以成功订阅该信息源了。

市面上有大量 RSS 阅读器可供选择,你可以通过搜索引擎来寻找你钟意的阅读器。All about RSS 仓库里也收集了不少较为流行的选项,值得作为参考。本文档也将列举若干常见的 RSS 阅读器供读者尝试:

Note

RSSerpent 本身并不是 RSS 阅读器,RSSerpent 用于生成 RSS 订阅链接。


最后更新: 2022-03-18
回到页面顶部

Skip to content

Know about RSS

Note

Before learning to use RSSerpent, you should have a basic understanding of RSS itself. Proceed to the next chapter if you already understood.

What is RSS?

RSS, short for Really Simple Syndication, is a web feed format. Other common web feed formats include Atom, JSON Feed, etc. As the oldest and most popular web feed format, RSS is also often used as the collective name of RSS, Atom, and other web feed formats.

As a web feed format, RSS is capable of pushing some frequently updated content to end-users over the Internet. One typical application of RSS is in the news industry. To this day, many news publishers, including BBC News, The Guardian, etc, still provide RSS news subscriptions.

Why use RSS?

RSS is most convenient for content readers. By subscribing to RSS feeds, you could aggregate information from various sources into one united place, thus eliminating the need to open multiple tabs/applications to skim through. What's even better, you can filter and prioritize based on the then aggregated information, in order to retrieve the most valuable pieces and save your precious reading time. Many RSS feeds also provide full-text output (instead of abstraction), so that you don't even have to open the browser to read the article. You will be free of cookie tracking, and your privacy will be preserved.

However, RSS is not as friendly to content publishers. Because RSS does not require you to open a browser or accept tedious cookie policies, it will be increasingly difficult for content publishers to profit from advertisement and personal data. As a result, fewer and fewer content publishers provide RSS subscriptions nowadays. RSSerpent would like to change this situation, so that content readers can benefit from more independent, convenient, and free access to the information on the Internet.

How to use RSS?

Usually, you subscribe to an RSS feed with a link (URL). RSS subscription links, by default, generate data in formats (e.g. XML, JSON) that are easier for computers to process and exchange. Therefore, we will also need an RSS reader to convert the RSS feed format into a more human-readable format.

Taking the RSS subscription link of The Guardian's World News as an example:

The Guardian feed

By opening that subscription link in the browser, you are likely to be confronted with this incomprehensible document. Don't panic! You are not mandated to understand anything about computer programming in order to learn about how to use RSS 😉 The only thing you will need to know is the link in the browser's address bar. Copy that subscription link to your clipboard, open your RSS reader, paste that link, and you will successfully subscribe to the RSS feed.

There are plenty of RSS readers available out there. You can find many of them simply through the search engine. The All about RSS repository also exhibits a fine collection of popular RSS readers for your reference. Here is a list of options recommended by the RSSerpent document:

Note

RSSerpent itself is not an RSS reader. RSSerpent is used for creating RSS feeds.


Last update: 2022-03-18
Back to top